Langoustine - also known as scampi, emperor lobster or Norwegian lobster

The North Atlantic Langoustine, also known as Nephrops Norvegicus, true scampi, or Norway lobster, hails from traditional coastal fishing in the glacial waters of Norway. These cold-water gems are harvested at depths exceeding 300 meters by small boats, braving the daily currents of the icy fjords. Our fishermen catch the langoustine between January and April in limited quantities, a practice aimed at preserving populations and ensuring sustainable enjoyment. Langoustine are regarded as one of the finest crustaceans globally and are employed as an excellent foundational ingredient by countless top chefs worldwide.

Filter

4 Products

Filter

Reset All
Save & Close

Exclusive specialties for special occasions

Tatar der Gambero Rosso auf Teller angerichtet

Discover our barbecue highlights

Promo-Teaser-Hummer-Grill18_1.jpg
Ausgelöstes Kaisergranatfleisch auf einem weißen Teller
Langoustine meat

tail meat, raw

from  CHF 56.99*

Drei Kaisergranate im Ganzen vor weißem Hintergrund
Langoustine

with head, shell & scissors

from  CHF 79.99*

Kaisergranat Karkassen auf weißer Platte
Langoustine carcasses

Head, scissors & shell

CHF 49.99*

CHF 12.50 /kg

Aufgetaute Kaisergranat Bouillon in weißem Teller

Sold out

Langoustine bouillon

Base for soups & sauces

from  CHF 13.99*

Savor the Peak Flavor: Langoustine at Its best

1. DEFROST Allow the langoustine to thaw in the refrigerator overnight or at room temperature on the same day. 2. COOK Melt butter over medium heat until a brownish layer forms on the bottom (milk sugar caramelizes). After the butter has cooled slightly, add the langoustine and cook, turning several times, for about 5 minutes. 3. FLAVOR Refine the carefully cooked flesh of the langoustine with a little lime zest and salt and serve plain or with lemon mayonnaise.

THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE LANGOUSTINE

HONEST CATCH has consciously chosen not to offer live langoustine, as live shipping is neither ethical nor contemporary, and the fluctuating meat quality in stressed animals does not meet our quality standards. Instead, HONEST CATCH relies on cutting-edge processing and freezing methods to ensure unparalleled quality and practical handling. The North Atlantic langoustine from HONEST CATCH is humanely killed and processed using a gentle and appropriate High-Pressure Processing (HPP) technique. High-pressure processing is a highly advanced technology recently integrated into the food industry. It has various applications, such as cold pasteurization of foods (e.g., fruit juices) and the deshelling of shellfish. High-pressure pasteurization in seafood is primarily used for meat separation and preservation. Without any chemical additives, the meat is separated from the shell 100% intact and undamaged. This offers significant advantages: the shelf life of langoustine is gently extended, preventing the growth of harmful microorganisms and minimizing the risk of contamination. Nutrients, vitamins, and minerals are preserved, maintaining the texture and flavor of the scampi. After this gentle processing, our langoustine is immediately shock-frozen using the innovative cryogenic freezing process at -90°C. In the cryogenic freezing process, the North Atlantic langoustine is transported on conveyors, unpackaged, into so-called shock tunnels. Within these tunnels, refrigerants such as carbon dioxide (-78°C) or nitrogen (-196°C) are used and sprayed onto the raw langoustine through fine nozzles. The refrigerant is supplied from a pressure vessel into the freezing tunnel. A sudden change in pressure creates gas, which absorbs the langoustine's heat and can then be removed. Upon exiting the tunnel, the langoustine has a core temperature of -18°C and can be immediately packaged and stored. The langoustine remains individually removable. The refrigerants displace oxidative oxygen and prevent dehydration (drying out) on the langoustine meat's surface due to the rapid temperature drop. Additionally, the low temperatures of -196°C to -78°C immediately inhibit the proliferation of microorganisms. This freezing method is vastly superior to conventional techniques, resulting in lower moisture loss (only up to 1% instead of up to 4%), reduced meat color loss, optimal quality preservation through gentle handling and preservation of cell structures, maintenance of the natural flavor and sensory attributes of langoustine, and the immediate preservation of the raw langoustine's freshness.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT LANGOUSTINE

Can I buy sustainable langoustine from HONEST CATCH?

Certainly, you have the option to acquire sustainable langoustine from us. Even exclusively. Our langoustines, commonly referred to as scampi, are sourced from the Norwegian Atlantic coastline, where they thrive in their native environment and are harvested in accordance with the established catch limits.

Why should I buy my langoustine from HONEST CATCH?

Buying langoustine at HONEST CATCH offers two very decisive advantages: First of all, the langoustine in our range is the North Atlantic Norway langoustine - pretty much the best that our seas have to offer in this category. In addition, you can enjoy the scampi in our range with an absolutely clear conscience: Since the fishermen adhere to applicable catch quotas when catching them, the continued existence of the local populations is ensured.

Where does the langoustine come from that I can buy at HONEST CATCH?

Our langoustines originate from Norway, specifically from the glacial waters where they inhabit depths of 300 meters. They are caught in limited quantities using traditional coastal fishing methods between January and April. This approach allows our fishermen to adhere to sustainability principles and contribute to the preservation of langoustine populations.

How do you recognize good Norway lobster?

The quality of Norway lobster is best judged by its origin. It is important that the Norway lobster grows in its natural habitat and under conditions that are as sustainable as possible. This is how the animals develop their extraordinary taste.

What should I consider if I want to buy langoustines online?

In addition to quality and taste, we consider the issue of sustainability to be particularly important when purchasing Norway lobster. Given the general overfishing of the world's oceans, we believe that it is more important than ever to only consume sustainable seafood. So when buying Norway lobster, pay attention to its origin. Various seals usually provide information here.

How does langoustine from HONEST CATCH taste?

Our langoustines are the North Atlantic Norwegian langoustines. These langoustines belong to the lobster family, which gives them a taste reminiscent of lobster. Their meat is exceptionally tender, offering a subtle nutty flavor with a touch of sweetness.

What sets langoustine apart from shrimp?

Norway lobster differs from shrimp in several ways. First of all, in contrast to shrimps, Norway lobsters have real claws and therefore belong to the lobster family. Even if you look closely at the tail, Norway lobsters differ from shrimps - it is significantly wider in Norway lobsters. The difference in color is even clearer: when raw, shrimp has a grayish-blue color, while langoustines have a reddish color. And the taste of the two differs anyway: langoustine tastes more nutty, shrimp usually tastes more sweet.

Kaisergranat - auch Scampi, Kaiserhummer oder Norwegischer Hummer genannt

Der nordatlantische Kaisergranat stammt aus traditioneller Küstenfischerei in den Gletschergewässern Norwegens. Üblicherweise wird er auch bezeichnet als Nephrops Norvegicus, echter Scampi, Langoustine oder Kaisergranat. Unsere Kaltwasserschönheiten werden in einer Tiefe von über 300 Metern von kleinen Booten gefischt und trotzen täglich den Strömungen der eiskalten Fjorde. Unsere Fischer fangen die Scampi zwischen Januar und April in kleinen Stückzahlen, um die Populationen zu präservieren und uns einen nachhaltigen Genuss zu ermöglichen. Scampi gelten als eines der feinsten Krustentiere überhaupt und werden weltweit von zahllosen Spitzenköchen als hervorragendes Grundprodukt verwendet.

Filter

5 Produkte

Filter

Alle zurücksetzen
Speichern & Schließen

Aus Crusta Nova wird HONEST CATCH

Crusta Nova wird HONEST CATCH

SO SCHMECKT DER KAISERGRANAT AM BESTEN

WISSENSWERTES ÜBER KAISERGRANAT

HONEST CATCH hat sich bewusst entschieden keinen lebenden Kaisergranat anzubieten, da deren Lebendversand weder artgerecht noch zeitgemäß ist und eine schwankende Fleischqualität bei gestressten Tieren unseren Qualitätsansprüchen nicht genügt. Vielmehr setzt HONEST CATCH auf die modernsten Verarbeitungs- und Gefriermethoden, um eine unvergleichliche Qualität und praktische Handhabung zu gewährleisten. Der nordatlantische Kaisergranat von HONEST CATCH wird mithilfe einer schonenden und artgerechten Hochdruckbehandlung (High Pressure Processing; HPP) getötet und verarbeitet. Die Hochdruckverarbeitung ist eine hochmoderne Technologie, die in der Lebensmittelindustrie erst seit kurzer Zeit Einklang findet. Es gibt verschiedene Einsatzmöglichkeiten wie die Kaltpasteurisierung von Lebensmitteln (z.B. Fruchtsäfte) oder auch die Entschalung von Muscheln und Schalentieren. Die Hochdruckpasteurisierung bei Meeresfrüchten wird vor allem zur Fleischtrennung und Haltbarmachung eingesetzt. Ganz ohne chemische Zusatzstoffe wird das Fleisch zu 100% und ohne Verlust oder Schäden von der Schale getrennt. Das hat entscheidende Vorteile: die Haltbarkeit des Kaisergranat wird schonend verlängert; Keime haben keine Chance und das Risiko von Kontaminationen ist minimiert; Nährstoffe, Vitamine und Mineralien bleiben erhalten; Textur und Geschmack der Scampi bleibt erhalten. Nach der schonenden Verarbeitung wird unser Kaisergranat unmittelbar im Anschluss mithilfe des kryogenen Gefrierverfahrens bei -90°C schockgefroren. Beim innovativen kryogenen Gefrierverfahren wird der nordatlantische Kaisergranat mithilfe von Transportbänden unverpackt in sogenannte Schocktunnel transportiert. Innerhalb dieser Tunnel kommt Kältemittel wie Kohlendioxid (-78° C) oder Stickstoff (-196° C) zum Einsatz, welches mithilfe feiner Düsen auf den rohen Kaisergranat gesprüht wird. Das Kühlmittel wird dabei von einem Druckbehälter in den Gefriertunnel geleitet. Durch die plötzliche Druckveränderung entsteht ein Gas, welches die Wärme des Kaisergranates aufnimmt und anschließend abgesaugt werden kann. Der Kaisergranat hat bei Verlassen des Tunnels eine Kerntemperatur von -18°C und kann sofort verschlossen und eingelagert werden. Der Kaisergranat bleibt dabei einzeln entnehmbar. Die eingesetzten Kühlmittel verdrängen oxidativen Sauerstoff und verhindern so durch die schnelle Temperatursenkung eine Dehydrierung (Austrocknung) an der Oberfläche des Kaisergranatfleisches. Aufgrund der niedrigen Temperaturen von -196°C bis -78°C wird außerdem die Vermehrung von Mikroorganismen augenblicklich unterbunden. Dieses Gefrierverfahren ist den konventionellen Methoden deutlich überlegen: geringerer Feuchtigkeitsverlust (statt bis 4% nur noch bis 1%); geringerer Farbverlust des Fleisches; optimaler Qualitätserhalt durch schonenden Umgang und Erhalt der Zellstrukturen; der natürliche Geschmack und die Sensorik des Kaisergranat bleibt erhalten; die Frische des rohen Kaisergranat ist unmittelbar konserviert.

HÄUFIG GESTELLTE FRAGEN ZUM THEMA KAISERGRANAT

Kann ich bei HONEST CATCH auch nachhaltigen Kaisergranat kaufen?

Selbstverständlich hast Du bei uns die Möglichkeit, nachhaltigen Kaisergranat zu kaufen. Sogar ausschließlich. Unsere Kaisergranate, auch als Scampi bekannt, stammen von der norwegischen Atlantikküste. Dort wachsen sie in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum auf und werden unter Einhaltung der geltenden Fangquoten abgefischt.

Warum sollte ich meinen Kaisergranat bei HONEST CATCH kaufen?

Kaisergranat kaufen bei HONEST CATCH bietet zwei ganz entscheidende Vorteile: Zunächst einmal handelt es sich beim Kaisergranat in unserem Sortiment um den nordatlantischen Kaisergranat – so ziemlich das Beste, was unsere Meere in dieser Kategorie zu bieten haben. Hinzu kommt, dass Du den Kaisergranat in unserem Sortiment mit einem absolut reinem Gewissen genießen kannst: Da sich die Fischer:innen beim Fang an geltende Fangquoten halten, ist der Fortbestand der Populationen vor Ort gesichert.

Woher kommt der Kaisergranat, den ich bei HONEST CATCH kaufen kann?

Unser Kaisergranat stammt aus Norwegen. Dort, in den Gletschergewässern, leben die Kaisergranate in einer Tiefe von 300 Metern, von wo aus sie mit keinen Booten in traditioneller Küstenfischerei zwischen Januar und April gefangen werden. Und zwar in geringen Stückzahlen. So tragen die Fischer:innen dem Nachhaltigkeitsgedanken Rechnung und sorgen für den Erhalt der Populationen.

Woran erkennt man guten Kaisergranat?

Die Qualität von Kaisergranat lässt sich am besten anhand der Herkunft beurteilen. Wichtig ist, dass die Kaisergranate in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum und unter möglichst nachhaltigen Bedingungen aufwachsen. So entfalten die Tiere Ihren außergewöhnlichen Geschmack.

Was sollte ich beachten, wenn ich Kaisergranat online kaufen möchte?

Neben Qualität und Geschmack halten wir beim Kauf von Kaisergranat vor allem das Thema Nachhaltigkeit für wichtig. Angesichts der allgemeinen Überfischung der Weltmeere sind wir der Überzeugung, dass es mehr denn je darauf ankommt, nur nachhaltiges Seafood zu konsumieren. Achte also beim Kauf von Kaisergranat auf seine Herkunft. Diverse Siegel geben hier in der Regel Aufschluss.

Wie schmeckt Kaisergranat von HONEST CATCH?

Bei unserem Kaisergranat handelt es sich um nordatlantischen Kaisergranat. Kaisergranate gehören zur Familie der Langusten, entsprechend erinnern sie auch geschmacklich an die Languste. Kaisergranat-Fleisch ist sehr zart und schmeckt ganz leicht nussig mit einer dezenten süßlichen Note.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Kaisergranat und Garnelen?

Kaisergranat unterscheidet sich von Garnelen in mehrfacher Hinsicht. Zunächst einmal besitzen Kaisergranate im Gegensatz zu Garnelen richtige Scheren und gehören auch deshalb zur Familie der Hummerartigen. Auch bei genauerer Betrachtung des Schwanzes unterscheiden sich Kaisergranate von den Garnelen – dieser ist bei den Kaisergranaten deutlich breiter. Noch deutlicher ist der farbliche Unterschied: Garnelen weisen in rohem Zustand eine graubläuliche, Kaisergranate eine rötliche Färbung auf. Und geschmacklich unterscheiden sich die beiden sowieso: Kaisergranate schmecken eher nussig, Garnelen üblicherweise eher süßlich.